The Five Lands

I cannot even begin to describe the anticipation and excitement with which I began planning for Cinque Terre. Plenty of postcards and “10-places-you-need-to-visit” lists have taught me that the five lands are magical, magical places.


The Cinque Terre (Italian pronunciation: [ˈtʃiŋkwe ˈtɛrre]; Ligurian: Çinque Tære, meaning “Five Lands”) is a rugged portion of coast on the Italian Riviera. It is in the Liguria region of Italy, to the west of the city of La Spezia, and comprises five villages: Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola, and Riomaggiore. The coastline, the five villages, and the surrounding hillsides are all part of the Cinque Terre National Park and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. –


Today, we begin our story with the two travel buddies once again caught in a huge predicament…

Continue reading “The Five Lands”